Photo of front entrance of the Cameo Cinema

Cameo Picturehouse

Add to

Edinburgh's primary arthouse cinema

The Cameo Cinema is an iconic and historic cinema in the Tollcross area of the city. Formerly known as the King's Cinema, it opened in 1914, but subsequently underwent a transformative refurbishment and name change in 1949 under its then owner, Jim Poole. The largest auditorium, Screen 1, transports the audience back in time with its stucco ceiling and columns and is a popular goto Christmas destination for the annual screening of, 'It's a Wonderful Life'.

Edinburgh's first arthouse cinema boasts three screens, each dedicated to showcasing arthouse films. It also offers a cosy art deco inspired bar offering bar food. This can be used for private screenings or special showings for cast and crew members.

With the exception of Screen 3, all screens at The Cameo offer wheelchair access, ensuring inclusivity for all moviegoers. There is a fully accessible separate toilet for wheelchair users opposite the doors to Screen 1 with an emergency call-point (the red hanging cord) inside should you need to summon assistance.

Level access is available through the bar entrance on Lochrin Place where public parking is also available.

For visually impaired customers, guide dogs are welcomed and an aisle seat can be arranged if notification is made at time of booking. Large print programmes are available. Information regarding Audio Described (AD) screenings with headsets can be found on the website and headsets are available from members of staff.

Certain performances carry Hard of Hearing (HOH) subtitles and again these screenings are highlighted on the online and printed programmes. All three screens are fitted with the Williams Sound hearing assistance headset system.

Dementia Friendly screenings are held on the second Friday of each month. These are open to all but especially for people with dementia and their family, friends and carers. There is an opportunity to socialise with other members of the audience at 10.30 when free tea / coffee and biscuits are available before the film's start time of 11.00am. (Times may vary slightly during holiday times - the most up-to-date times will be on the website).

For those arriving by train, Haymarket train station is conveniently located within a 15-minute walk from the cinema, while Waverley Station is approximately a 30-minute walk away.

Key Information


Our web listings are provided by third party operators and not by Forever Edinburgh. Forever Edinburgh accept no responsibility for mistakes or misrepresented information contained in the business listings. Forever Edinburgh are not responsible for loss or damage caused by reliance placed on third party listings. These listings are for your information only and not endorsed by Forever Edinburgh.

Additional Information

Key Features

Accessible Parking

Hearing Loop

Level Access


Payment Methods


Credit Card

Debit Card


No Pets Allowed


Overnight Parking

Accessible Parking

On Public Transport Route

Public Parking Nearby


Accessible parking

Accessible parking or drop-off point

Accessible toilets

Hearing Loop

Large print, braille or audio

Level Access

Level access to bar

Partial wheelchair access

Suitable for visitors with limited mobility

Nearby to Cameo Picturehouse

Approximate duration and distances shown are from Cameo Picturehouse.

Social Media